Who is This Guy?

I have been a writer, a communicator, and a storyteller all my life. The jobs and work have changed, but those qualities remained constant.


As a child, I wrote letters and science fiction stories on my mother’s portable Underwood typewriter. I earned my B.S. degree in broadcast journalism from the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications at Syracuse University.


I worked in radio news in college and at two radio stations in my home state of Connecticut. I wrote short, concise stories that got to the heart of the matter. I also interviewed and talked to everyone from first responders to accident victims, government officials and local politicians.


Later, I switched to a career in the law. While attending Western New England University School of Law part-time, I worked full-time as a paralegal. Part of that job was telling our corporate client’s story through discovery responses in mass toxic tort litigation.


My career as a lawyer started with the Connecticut Commission on Human Rights & Opportunities, a state fair employment practices agency. Most of my time was spent investigating and mediating claims of employment discrimination. The bulk of my job was gathering information and interviewing parties and witnesses. In most cases I also wrote the story of the case in my findings. I often tried to mediate settlements with the parties involved.

My family moved from Connecticut to Pennsylvania, where I worked in private practice. Later, I worked for two legal aid agencies in Philadelphia, the SeniorLAW Center and the Legal Clinic for the Disabled, where I provided free legal services to cancer survivors and wrote a monthly newsletter.


After 20 years in the legal field, 16 as an attorney, I worked in sales where I learned I’m much better at communicating than closing. Next, I worked as the marketing director of a medium-sized law firm in New Jersey, and ever since as a freelance writer. I have a marketing podcast with two colleagues where we discuss big marketing issues with the owners of small businesses.


I live in Bucks County, Pennsylvania, a mile from the Delaware River. I have two women in my life – my wife and daughter – whose infinite horizons inspire me every day. A really good day might be spent, if not writing, on a bike riding along the river, hosting dinner for a house full of friends or at one of the few Major League Baseball parks I’ve never visited (down to ten).


Want help telling your story or your client’s story? If so, let’s start the conversation.

Interested? Want to see writing samples? If so, let’s start the conversation.